• PSETA Assessors and Moderator vouchers
    by TUCT on February 12, 2018 at 5:10 am

    The PSETA (Public Service Sector Education & Training Authority) together with TRAINYOUCAN sponsor the following programmes that meets the requirements as stipulated by the PSETA target groups/sector. […]


Latest BLOG post

QCTO Code of Conduct for Development Quality Partners (DQP) and Assessment Quality Partners (AQP)

The QCTO Code of Conduct for Development Quality Partners (DQP) and Assessment Quality Partners (AQP) We, the undersigned, wish to be appointed by the QCTO as a DQP/AQP. We agree that, if the QCTO delegates such functions to us, we hereby commit ourselves to abide by the QCTO’s Code of Conduct in relation to all our work. The Code of Conduct to which we agree is as follows: i.      promoting the objectives of the NQF; ii.      dealing   fairly,   professionally   and   equitably   with   stakeholders   whilst accelerating the redress of past unfair discrimination; iii.      consulting  with  all  relevant  stakeholders  that  have  an  interest  in  the development and assessment of occupational qualifica[...]

What is Foundational Learning Competence?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Foundational Learning Competence (FLC) is a part qualification that consists of two learning  areas: Communication and Mathematical Literacy.  it outlines the minimum level of competence required for optimal functioning in the world of work and for occupational learning at NQF Levels 2-4. it is a part qualification registered at NQF Level 2 and carries 40 credits in total. Each learning  area carries 20 credits.

The FLC is directed at learners in occupational qualifications registered on the NQF at Level 2, 3 and 4. it is a compulsory component for all new qualifications developed by the Quality Council for trades and occupations (QCto) at NQF levels 3 and 4 (see exemptions in page 10).Tthis does not mean that developers of qualifications at NQF Level 2 cannot include Foundational Learning Competence as a requirement.

Each learning  area consists of components that are ‘foundational to’ occupational qualifications at NQF Levels 2 to 4. the FLC is intended to address the skills and knowledge required for occupational learning across the FEt sector.

The following documents describe the learning required for the FLC:

  1. the Foundational Learning Competence part Qualification (which contains the Exit Level outcomes and Associated Assessment Criteria for both Communication and Mathematical Literacy, SAQA iD: 88895).
  1. the Foundational Communication in English: Curriculum Framework.
  2. the Foundational Mathematical Literacy: Curriculum Framework.

These documents outline the knowledge, content, applied  skills, range statements and assessment requirements of the FLC. the curriculum documents for Foundational Communication and Foundational Mathematical Literacy outline the necessary ‘learning’ skills for the learner to succeed in occupational or trade training. the curricula set out the areas of knowledge, skills and processes that should be covered in each learning  area. they include learning outcomes and the scope and contexts in which these can be learned or practised, as well as learning activity guidelines and illustrative exemplars for different skills and tasks. the curricula do not represent actual learning programmes. providers will need to develop or adapt their own materials. the learning materials should be contextualised to suite the particular occupational sector.

The curriculum documents are available on the QCto and independent Examinations Board (iEB) websites.

The focus in Foundational Communication  is on developing reading, writing, speaking and listening skills that will enable the learner to function optimally in the workplace, to enable the learner to deal with further learning and to access occupational training materials and related assessments. the focus in Foundational Mathematical Literacy